Clinic Diabetes Educator Representative

Colleen Swanson
Avera Medical Group - Pierre

Colleen.Swanson@avera.org


The South Dakota Diabetes Coalition (SDDC) is a non-profit organization comprised of over 100 diverse partners - healthcare professionals, advocacy groups, government agencies, tribal health representatives, persons with diabetes, quality improvement and wellness program coordinators and many others. The South Dakota Diabetes Coalition is a volunteer-based organization comprised of professionals and citizens who are passionate about preventing diabetes and empowering those with diabetes to successfully manage their health.

The roots of the Diabetes Coalition stem from the Diabetes Advisory Council, founded in the mid-1980s by the South Dakota Department of Health and its healthcare partners. The Coalition has since transitioned to a 501c3 charitable, educational organization comprised of four work groups. Throughout the years, the SDDC has grown from a few dozen members to over ninety (90) members. The South Dakota Diabetes Coalition is now coordinated by Sage Project Consultants of Sioux Falls. The coordinators at Sage work with the volunteer members of the Coalition to help those affected by and at risk for diabetes in South Dakota.

What We Do

CO-CHAIR

​​Sue Johannsen GNP, PA, CDE
​​Avera Health
Sioux Falls
(605) 354-3876
susan.johannsen@avera.org

SD Department of Health Representative

Melissa Coull, RN​​
South Dakota Department 
​of Health -Brookings
melissa.coull@state.sd.us

• Diabetes Prevention Resources
• Patient Education and Resources
• Provider Education and Resources
• Support Group Information
• Locate Diabetes Educator Map
Tribal Healthcare/Indian Health Service/Urban Indian Health  Representative

Rita Broken Leg, RN​​
Rosebud
rita.brokenleg@rstdpp.org

Academia Representative

​Cristina Lammers MD, MPH
​​South Dakota State University
Brookings
cristina.lammers@sdstate.edu
Our Mission
• Virtual Nurse Project
• Educational Conferences
• Speakers Bureau
• Evaluation Services
Consumer 

Judith Pederson​​
Consumer
judenpete@wat.midco.net

To collaboratively improve the quality of life for all South Dakotans at risk for, or affected by, diabetes.

COORDINATOR

​Sage Project Consultants, LLC
Sharon L. Chontos
Ben Tiensvold
2804 S. 4th Ave.

Sioux Falls, SD 57105
(605) 271-0611
sharon@sageprojectconsultants.com
​ben@sageprojectconsultants.com


SD Department of Health Representative

Karen Cudmore
South Dakota
Department of Health - Pierre
karen.cudmore@state.sd.us

Coordinating Panel

About the Coalition

  • Promote collaboration and coordination of efforts in the statewide diabetes network
  • Promote access to quality diabetes prevention and control information and services in order to reduce the number of new diabetes cases and decrease the negative impact of diabetes on health and quality of life.
  • Provide advice and recommendations to the South Dakota Department of Health’s Diabetes Prevention and Control Program.
  • Share expertise and insights into the needs, evidenced-based practices, and trends of persons and organizations impacted by diabetes.
Our Goals
Health Systems Diabetes Educator Representative

​Susan Barnes RN, CDE
Avera Sacred Heart Hospital
Yankton
sbarnes@avera.org

South Dakota Provider Representative

Stephan Schroeder, MD​​
South Dakota
Foundation for Medical Care
Sioux Falls
Stephan.schroeder@area-A.hcqis.org

South Dakotans living free of the burden of diabetes.

About Us

TREASURER

​Mary Lobb Oyos RN, MS, CDE
​Avera McKennan Diabetes Center
Sioux Falls
mary.oyos@avera.org

Locate Diabetes Educators in Your Area

Our Vision
CO-CHAIR

​Jodie Barnett RN, BSN
​​DAKOTACARE
Sioux Falls
jbarnett@dakotacare.com

South Dakota Foundation for Medical Care Representative

​Dawn Hahn, RN
​​South Dakota Foundation
for Medical Care
(605) 336-3505
dawn.hahn@area-A.hcqis.org

The South Dakota Diabetes Coalition provides the following services to South Dakotans: